Yarn Tasting – Part 4 Pebbles

Classic Elite Pebbles knit holding 2 strands on US7 needles.

I’m sorry for the lack of posts this week. I had several posts in “draft” form and just never got to finish them up like I wanted to. Here’s the latest in the Yarn Tasting Series:

The fourth yarn I swatched up from the yarn tasting was Classic Elite Pebbles. This is a 75% Cotton/25% Acrylic yarn.  It comes in 50 gram/110 yard balls and a wide array of colors.

When I first felt this in the mini skein I thought “I’m not going to like this. It’s kind of like a boucle and I don’t like boucles.”  Boy was I wrong.  I knit it up in a variety of ways.

Classic Elite Pebbles: Top of swatch is knit on US5 needles, Bottom Swatch knit with US7 needles.

 This first swatch I knit up I started with size US7 needles (knitting below the YO row) using a single strand of yarn.  It seemed really loose and not at all appealing.

I then switched to US5 needles and knit the top portion of this swatch. I liked the fabric created here much better. I really liked the texture this yarn has when knit up. It would be great for a baby jacket or lightweight pullover.

Classic Elite Pebbles knit with 2 strands on US7 needles

The second swatch I did with this yarn, was holding 2 strands together and knitting with size 7 needles like the website suggested. This made for a very tightly knit, but still lightweight, fabric. This made me think of a really luxurious spa washcloth. I just wanted to wash my face and use this swatch.

Overall I really liked this yarn, but I’m not sure I’d buy it. It’s not my “cup of tea” as some would say. I would recommend this to someone looking for a great priced, colorful solution for making baby garments. I could see a little girl in a lovely purple pullover with this yarn!

I have one more swatch to knit up and I hope to have that post this weekend.  I did get some yarn in from TightlyWoundYarn.com that the owner, Andrea, wanted me to test knit. So be on the lookout for some more Yarn Reviews in the coming weeks!

-AMU

Leave a Reply

