Sock Knitting

Sorry readers for the absence in posting this last week. I’ve had quite a few things going on. My husband and I volunteer with Taysia Blue Siberian Husky Rescue here in Omaha and we decided to try our attempt at being a foster family. We took in an 11 month old female siberian husky on Saturday, so we’ve been busy with that. She’s a wonderful dog and Rocco is enjoying having a full time playmate.

I managed to get a little bit of knitting done when I had exiled myself to my basement workshop to take a break from the dogs. 

Heel flap sock #2

I finished the leg of my second sock and have begun the heel flap. I expect to get that finished today or tomorrow over lunchtime/waiting on my carpool ride time.

I’ve been loving knitting socks this time around. I think I’ve found my style of knitting socks finally. I can’t believe I settle on DPNs. I’ve really enjoyed it.

I’m thinking of what socks to knit next. I love having a tiny project like this that I can shove in my purse to work on when I get a spare couple of minutes. I have some Malabrigo sock, but people have told me to not make socks from it because it wears out really quick.

I’m looking for something else like the Regia I’m using now. Maybe in a semi-solid or tonal. I want to do a lacy pattern, or something like Monkey by Cookie A.

If you have any suggestions, please let me know!

-AMU

One thought on “Sock Knitting

  1. I did my first full pair of socks on dpns and I really enjoyed it. I prefer now to magic loop though. I’m working on some socks out of some leftover Mal which are coming along VERY SLOWLY since they’re my “school” socks (meaning I only work on them when I have an evening class which is just once a week). I have used Knit Picks’ sock yarn which seems pretty sturdy (and of course you can’t beat the price) and I also like Cascade Heritage.

Leave a Reply

