2016 in Review

Every year I try to do some sort of post that is a recap of what I accomplished the year before, so here it is for 2016.

    Last blog post was July 28, 2016. Nearly 6 months ago to the day. Having time to blog has definitely been something that I miss dearly. I enjoyed sharing my projects here on a regular basis and reading about others projects. I can say that I haven’t kept up with too many blogs as of late either. Most of this can be attributed to someone tiny (well not so much anymore) keeping most of my “free” time locked up in games of peek-a-boo, please pick this up mom, and exploring all sorts of new things in the world from the eyes of a small person. I wouldn’t trade any of that for a blog post. Ever.

Surveying the world, Dec 2016

Knitting was prevalent in 2016. I am actually kind of amazed at how much I accomplished given the lack of long stretches of time to sit and knit. Knitting was done in short spurts on my lunch break, in the passenger seat of the car, in the wee hours of the morning before everyone is awake, or during the wonderful time of day called nap time. It definitely changed what kind of knitting I was doing. Nothing overly complicated, but instead a bit of garter, some stockinette, a little colorwork, etc. Projects were of a more simple nature too. 

(Break for a bit as I read a book to Ms. Evelyn. I will return, I promise.)

Project Totals

  • 3 Pairs of Adult socks
  • 1 pair of baby socks(never worn, her feet grew too fast!)
  • 1 pair of booties
  • 1 Shawl
  • 1 scarf (started in 2015 and finished in 2016)
  • 3 pairs of mitts or mittens
  • 1 Hiro Sweater, colorwork, and steeked! 
  • 1 laceweight summer top (finished during winter so has yet to be worn!)
  • 3 toddler sweaters
  • 2 adult hats
  • 3 toddler hats
  • 1 retreat bunting triangle 
  • Multiple advent mittens (finally finished all 24 after Christmas!)
  • 6 washcloths

In total 24 projects (the washcloths I count as 1 project). I would say it was a good year for knitting. I focused on enjoying the time I spent knitting. This either meant knitting patterns I enjoy, working with yarn I love, or knitting gifts for the special people in my life.

Spinning really didn’t happen in 2016. I spun and finished 1 5.5 oz loop bump for the entire year. Right now there are tiny hands that want to play with my wheel. She is getting to the point where spinning is beginning to happen again. I managed to get the wheel out and clean it a few weeks ago. We will see what 2017 holds for spinning.

2017 is off to a decent start.

Until next time…

-AMU

Leave a Reply

