New Techniques

To start off 2016 I decided it was time for me to knit a Hiro cardigan. I have loved these from day 1. Thanks to the annual sale at my LYS I was able to pick up the needed materials for a good price. It took me a long time to decide on colors, but I came away with a selection I am excited about.

The new thing with this project is twofold. First, I am knitting the sleeves two at a time. This is saving me having to slog through them separately and I keep telling myself it is like one giant sleeve instead. I will say managing the colorwork was a bit tedious as I had a tangled mess for most of it. Since finishing that section on the sleeves, using one color and two balls of yarn, the sleeves are zooming along nicely.

  
The other thing on this project that will be a first is steeking! I used my swatch as a test and loved how my sewing machine made quick work of it. I had previously tried a crochet steek on a coffee cozy, but wasn’t impressed. Also, I am using a superwash wool for this sweater and since there will be no felting, I like the piece of mind of the extra insurance.

  

I have been getting work on the sleeves here and there and I am nearly done with the increases. After that I plan to cast on the body and am hoping it zooms along as well.

Until next time…

-AMU

One thought on “New Techniques

  1. Love those colours!

Leave a Reply

