Trying Something New

So I made a list of things I wanted to knit for Christmas gifts last week. All are relatively small projects with a couple pairs of mittens and a hat thrown in for good measure.

One of these items is a pair of thrummed mittens. I have always marveled at these and decided to take the plunge.

I raided the fiber stash and came up with a poorly blended merino/silk batt I acquired back when I wasn’t sure what was good or bad in batts. I figured I could pick around the not blended parts and it would work out just fine.

I decided to use the Yarn Harlot’s pattern for thrummed mittens. It’s buried in some blog posts of hers but can be found on Ravelry.

IMG_3683.JPG

I can’t believe how addicting it is to make the thrums!

IMG_3680.JPG

I think this will be a quick knit as it is very potato chip-like. The thrums are so fluffy and warm!

I think the recipient will really love these!

Until next time…

-AMU

5 thoughts on “Trying Something New

  1. those look so lush and warm!

  2. These have been something I’ve wanted to try!! so cool!

  3. I need to make my aunt some thrummed slippers. She lives in a drafty old house, and I know they would come in handy!

  4. Thrumming is a neat technique.

  5. I have been contemplating thrummed mittens lately, I think it was partly because of the thrummed slipper Ysolda recently released, that and having a nice fibre stash nowadays.

Leave a Reply

