The Edging That Doesn’t End

So a few weeks ago I got bit by the lace bug. I just wanted to knit hardcore lace and nothing else. So I combed the stash and found a lone skein of Malabrigo Silkpaca lace (70/30 alpaca/silk).  I then checked the queue and the favorites list on Ravelry and surfaced with the Rock Island Shawl by Jared Flood. I ended up at the local LYS purchasing a 2nd skein so I have enough for a good sized shawl.

This shawl has been in the faves since it was published. It’s what I would consider a “bucket list project” for me. It’s not an easy project. You start off with knitting the bottom edge and then pick up to knit the body of the shawl.

20140522-061204-22324833.jpg

Edging in progress

I have 37 repeats of the edging left. There are 72 in total! Just about halfway! This definitely requires a certain mindset and isn’t something that is knit on much around people or in social situations.

It may be a long term knitting project, but I am loving the yarn and the lacework is very zen like.  I really can’t wait to get to the body of this shawl though.

Until next time…

-AMU

3 thoughts on “The Edging That Doesn’t End

  1. okay, how are you doing on this? I am trying to get mine done for my daughter’s wedding -Sept 13 of this year…..she’s going to wear whatever I get done. Sure would love to know if you’ve had any difficulty and how you got through it. I have knitted for ever but never did this much lace knitting.

    • I am still on the edging because I put the pattern down for another project. It’s a fairly complicated lace knit. I would recommend using lifelines often! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

