A Tale of Three Heels

So this post has been in the making for nearly 2 weeks. Life has been busy lately. Anyways, I was have been slowing working on my No Purl Monkey socks out of 716knits self-striping sock yarn. This yarn I purchased at last year’s Zombie Knitpocalypse retreat. I decided I should use of some of the yarn purchases I made before going again this year.

This sock has been my Achille’s heel (literally). I was going to go for the normal heel flap and gusset, but a few rows into the heel flap I changed my mind. I guess I was feeling indecisive that day. And there the snowball started rolling down the hill. I thought it would be an excellent time to try out the Fish Lips Kiss heel or a variation thereof that everyone (podcasters) was talking about. This is why I don’t like to learn new things. With the way that I knit, I have to reverse engineer most new techniques or stitch patterns so that they look right.

I gave up halfway through the heel because my mind wasn’t really in it.

20140312-081507.jpg

So what was a girl to do? I needed a heel and I needed it fast!  Short row heel it is! I grabbed out my Wendy Johnson book that had a good short row heel in it and set off.

I finished it in very little time (I believe it was over lunch one day.) And stared at it. I had a nice furrow in my brow and I stared some more. I shoved it back in it’s project bag. Once I got home and had a glass of wine while staring at it some more, I realized I hated it. I put it on my foot and hated it some more.

20140321-061153.jpg

So back it went. So that’s heel #3 right there. I put the sock away to sort it out another day.

Soon I needed a mindless project again, so I had to approach this sock that was driving me nuts. So I decided to skip the heel and deal with it later. Hello, afterthought heel! Nice to meet you.

20140321-061201.jpg

While it’s not my favorite heel, it allowed me to move on with the sock. I kept the patterning on the top of the foot and have plain stockinette on the bottom of the foot. It’s cruising right along. I think I have about 3 more inches before I start the toe. Hopefully the toes won’t be as cumbersome as that heel!

20140325-052042.jpg

Until next time…

-AMU

8 thoughts on “A Tale of Three Heels

  1. Whatever heel you put in they will be fabulous! Have you tried the OMG heel? It’s fabulous!

  2. Nice socks! I’ve never tried an afterthought heel, but I like the idea of not having to stop when I’m enjoying the pattern. Something to add to the list.

  3. Those colors are awesome. Self-striping yarn is the bees knees!

  4. FLK is just a short row heel. I have made it before, just because I was trying to get rid of holes.

    I have head really good luck with a mini gusset on a short row heel. It gives enough room, and keeps the striping sequence mostly intact.

    Molly : )

  5. I haven’t tried a short row heel on a cuff down but I believe it’s used for toe up which I’ve done once. With my chicken feet, that heel fits me very well. So what heel did you end up doing? Slip st was out and fish lip?

  6. I’ve heard good things about the sweet tomato heel (?) — maybe for next time. Until then, you are braver than I on the sock-knitting front… high fives! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer | Weekend Recap

Leave a Reply

