2013 Year in Review

It’s that time of year again where I post the Year in Review.

Overall 2013 for me was a great year in knitting and spinning. I knit quite a few things (stats below) and I spun some things (though not as many as I would have liked).

Back in January of 2013 I posted some goals for myself. I’m not sure I achieved all of them, but let’s take a look.

Healthy Factor:  I did indeed add more fruits and veggies to the diet. I can definitely tell a difference when I “fall of the wagon”. I want to continue this habit into 2014 and get even better at it.

Fitness Bit:  I was all about the running back in January 2013. In June of 2013 I discovered cycling and haven’t given running really a 2nd look. 2014 will be more cycling for sure.

Cooking:  I definitely got back into the kitchen in 2013.  There were some good weeks where I tried to cook all the meals and some bad weeks where Chinese takeout was a good idea.  This year with Ryan back in school I want to try to do some more prep ahead recipes to make the week a bit easier.

Outdoors:  We did get outdoors more. The cycling helped and we did quite a few Saturday morning small hikes with Rocco. We only went kayaking once, but we got a couple friends hooked on it.

Knitting: I was definitely more organized with the knitting in 2013. The yarn purchases were minimal and I tried to knit from stash. I have to say I haven’t had to buy more containers for yarn in the craft lair, so that is a good sign.

35 projects for 2013 listed in Ravelry

2 adult sweaters (Miranda and Lush)

1 baby sweater

4 pairs of socks (I have 2 half pairs still on the needles.)

2 pairs of baby socks

6 shawls/scarves (Daybreak, Color Affection, My Hope, Trillian, Ryan’s scarf, TGV)

3 full-sized Christmas stockings

It was about the same level of knitting in 2012.

Spinning: I have to say I did get to spinning more consistent singles, and I did learn to Navajo ply. I definitely didn’t get as much spinning accomplished as I would have liked. I have found I really like spinning in public vs spinning in my house. I’m hoping to find some more time to spin in 2014.

I spun 3 4oz braids and 2 mini bumps of fiber.

I learned to Navajo ply.

I have spun corriedale, merino/silk, superwash merino, and I have some alpaca lingering on the wheel still.

Overall 2013 was a good year. Can’t wait to see what 2014 will unveil.

Until next time…

-AMU

One thought on “2013 Year in Review

Leave a Reply

