Swatch Happy

 

The week before Thanksgiving I stumbled upon a 2 day sale on Knit Picks. It was for 50g skeins of this lovely tweedy yarn. The price was ridiculous and so I pounced. I had some birthday money left and decided this would be worth it. I picked up 15 skeins of their City Tweed Heavy Weight. It’s a heavy worsted/aran weight.

20131201-145110.jpg

 

I knew this yarn would be my next sweater, so I grabbed out a ball and for a few days did some swatching. I ended with 3 swatches, 3 needle sizes, and all have been washed and blocked. Oh yes, I do the whole shabang. I have found I’m much happier in the end if I know what the yarn is going to do before I get the sweater done. Yes it delays that instant gratification of casting on a new sweater, but oh well.

20131201-145117.jpg

I’ve measured the gauge and have found that I’m not getting the right gauge for the sweater I want to knit. It’s not off by much, but 1/2 stitch either way which will add up over a whole sweater. I think this weekend I will sit down and do some math and see if I can get something that will work.

Until next time…

-AMU

 

3 thoughts on “Swatch Happy

  1. If you view it as part of the sweater knitting process, gauge swatches aren’t really that painful. You know?

  2. That’s a nice neutral tweed there.

Leave a Reply

