Merry Christmas, Mom!

So last month when I was visiting my mom and brother, mom mentioned that Ree Drummand, The Pioneer Woman, had a new book coming out for the holidays and that she wanted to get herself one and me one for my birthday. Excellent! I love The Pioneer Woman! Then she mentioned she was doing a book signing in Omaha and wanted me to get the books signed. Sure! Why not!?

20131119-054806.jpg

That was the line at 4pm when I got there. The signing started at 5pm. At this point, which I would learn later I was about 1300-1500 people back in the line. Not too bad I thought. It will move quickly. It was 44F out at that point.

20131119-054814.jpg

 

 

As a knitter I have learned to ALWAYS have knitting in your car or purse because you never know when you will have an interminable wait. Yup so I pulled out my sock. I still had a good 4 inches of knitting to do on it before it would be finished.  I met at least 4 other knitters in the line, one who was regretting not bringing hers. Soon I was knitting by the lights of the Baker’s parking lot.

I made some new friends in line as well. I had a few folks watching the progress of the sock and commenting on it. Knitting in a line is a great conversation piece. And for an introvert it is much easier for you to respond to a question than to start the conversation yourself. I honestly don’t know that I would have lasted in that line without the knitting.

20131119-054823.jpg

 

Ree Drummand’s husband, known as the “Marlboro Man” on the show came through the line here and there to meet people. I was one of the lucky to get his autograph.  I had him sign my mom’s book. He was super patient and polite. This was about hour 4 in line. I’d stopped knitting for a bit because it was now 33F out and my fingers were a bit frozen, even with gloves on. (Note: Time to knit those Knotty gloves I bought yarn for last year!)

20131119-054832.jpg

 

After 6 hours, yes 6 hours! I finally got to meet Ree and have her sign the books. She was super lovely in person and just as charming as on her show!

20131119-054841.jpg

 

By the end of the night I had a finished sock and the toe of the 2nd. (Once we got inside for the wait, my fingers thawed and I could cast on the 2nd.)

20131119-054852.jpg

 

Here’s the cookbook! Everything inside looks absolutely delicious!

20131119-054900.jpg

 

Merry Christmas, Mom! Thanks for the Monday night adventure.

Until next time…

-AMU

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas, Mom!

  1. Great story! Your mom will enjoy her book even more, knowing the whole story! Love you, Amanda

  2. I love it and I love you for doing this. I love how you told the story too.

  3. Cool! I try to watch her show when I can. They’re a great family.

  4. Pingback: Carrot Cake | Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Leave a Reply

