Noodles!!!

Last night I got bitten by the “Betty Crocker” bug and decided to make some homemade noodles for dinner.  I haven’t done this in a very long time, maybe years. So I went out to Google and found a good tutorial/recipe on The Kitchn Blog to help me out. I gathered up my ingredients and got to work. Soon I had a bit of dough that looked like this:

20130327-054303.jpg 

I let that sit for 30 min before I began to roll it out and cut it into strips. I quarted the dough ball and did each 1/4th like this:  I rolled it out thin in a long strip, then rolled it up on itself like a burrito. I then took a really sharp knife to cut along the roll, kind of like you would sushi.  Then unrolled each noodle and plopped it down on some parchment paper. I dusted a bit of flour over the tops of the noodles and let them sit on the counter for about 30 minutes to dry out a bit. 

If you are doing this and not getting flour all over the place, then you are probably doing it wrong. Flour liberally. Our house is pretty dry, so I didn’t need to use nearly as much flour as the reciped dictated, but for more humid climates you will use quite a bit.

20130327-054316.jpg

When it was time for dinner I boiled some water with some salt and tossed the noodles in for about 5 minutes. They cook much quicker than your dried out store bought noodles, but they were perfectly tender. Not mushy which is what will happen if you cook them too long.

20130327-054321.jpg

I drained them and tossed them with some red pasta sauce I  had leftover in the fridge and added some cooked shrimp. I have to say they came out super delicious. Now these weren’t the thin noodles like fettucini or spaghetti, but a bit fatter. They plump when you cook them up.

The remaining noodles I tossed in the freezer in an airtight container to eat next week. I have to say this was a fun process and something I look forward to doing again in the future.

Until next time…

-AMU

2 thoughts on “Noodles!!!

  1. My mom made the best homemade chicken noodle soup, I’d always snitch little pieces of noodle while they were dryng.

  2. OMGosh, you make it look so easy. They look good and yummy.

Leave a Reply

