Weekend Knitting

20130217-174623.jpg

I love weekend road trips. It usually ends up being a good time for my husband and I to talk about anything and everything. We try out newly purchased CDs or catch up on Car Talk on NPR. It also usually means plenty of car time knitting for me seeing as even the shorted trip to visit relatives is 3.5 hours each way.

This weekend I really wanted to mess with some MadelineTosh yarn that I had in the stash. I had a skein of Tosh Merino Light a light fingering weight yarn in the Blue Gingham colorway and a skein of Tosh DK in Iris that I had set aside recently to make a Howlcat for myself. Special thanks to Sheila for the Tosh DK. (It was a Christmas present!)

20130217-174629.jpg

I cast on as soon as we got on the highway leaving Omaha on Saturday morning. I got into a rhythm and knitted the whole way. 10 inches of ribbing is a bit of a boring task truth be told, but the MadTosh DK was exceptionally lovely to knit with. It is super squishy and none of these photos do the color justice.

20130217-174635.jpg

On the way back I was glad to be done with the ribbing and started the stockinette portion with the Tosh Merino Light. I am trucking along on this section a bit slower because I don’t particurally care for 16″ circulars. The needle tips are just not long enough for me to get a good grip on them and I end up having to take breaks to avoid some hand cramps. Might switch to a longer needle if I can unearth one in my lair.

Until next time…

-AMU

2 thoughts on “Weekend Knitting

  1. Time to start planning some road trip knitting for me, too! I only have until July to figure out what I need for a 14 hour trip (each way!) Will I have enough time???

  2. These two colors are so yummy!

Leave a Reply

