Pillowcases

 

 

So this weekend I decided to try my hand at some repurposing.  I had a flat queen sheet that had lost its fitted mate last year due to wear and tear and a dog. The flat sheet was perfectly fine and I saved it back thinking I would make some pillowcases out of it because I always seem to need clean pillowcases.

A few weeks ago I bought myself a body pillow to help me have better posture while I was sleeping. I needed a pillowcase for that because I wasn’t going to pay $20 for a pillowcase!  So I dug out that flat sheet and commenced cutting and sewing.

20130120-194340.jpg

I ended up having enough of the sheet material for 2 body pillowcases and 2 standard pillowcases.

20130120-194346.jpg

I used my trusty iron to help create neat and tidy seams. I have read this is an important part of sewing and I feel that the end result shows it.  I have established that I do need a new iron as this one leaks water pretty badly and doesn’t get as hot as it should.

20130120-194351.jpg

This is my sewing machine. It was given to me last year by my mother-in-law. I have to say this machine for being 30 years old sews quite well and I didn’t have to fuss with it at all!

20130120-202041.jpg

Here is one of my finished body pillowcases in action! I’m very happy with the results and might have to attempt some other repurposing of items in my house real soon!

Until next time…

-AMU

4 thoughts on “Pillowcases

  1. You can’t go wrong with a good old-fashioned mechanical Bernina! Unless you’re me and don’t get along so well with machines you have to plug into a wall, then a good old mechanical Singer hand crank or treadle is better, but if I am going to use the new fangled electric types, it’s my mom’s similarly vintage Bernina!

  2. Lucky thing getting an old Bernina. They are really sought after. I got a new iron for my sewing too. It has transformed my sewing experience!

  3. Awesome!! Great repurpose idea!

  4. Handy you are of course being an engineer and all! Yippee on up cycling and saving money.

Leave a Reply

