2013 Themes for Myself

As with most posts at the beginning of January I tend to lay out some goals or things I’d like to accomplish in the coming year. For 2013 I thought I’d add some things that are not necessarily knitting related.

20130103-131729.jpgHealthy Factor: I intend on eating more fruits and veggies. Being healthy for me needs to be a priority. Instead of chips and candy I should go for fruits and veggies. I also want to set out a goal of drinking more water on a regular basis. I even bought myself a new water bottle with a straw in hopes that it will encourage better water drinking habits.

Fitness Bit: Last August I started back to running. I have fell off the wagon the last month mainly due to not wanting to run in freezing temps and snow. I did recently buy a yoga ball and a workout dvd and plan to start doing that at least twice a week and add in the running again once it gets above freezing!  I’ve got Runkeeper and Zombies, Run! on my iPhone along with a new pair of running shoes!

Knitting: I cleaned out my queue on Ravelry at the end of 2012 and decided that I really need to get more organized in my knitting plans. I have added tags like 2013, gift, needyarn to help me shop for yarn when I do go on yarny trips or feel the need to purchase something. I hope this will help when trying to decide what to knit in the future. 

Spinning: Since I got my wheel at the end of 2012 I haven’t had much time to play with it. In 2013 I hope to improve my spinning and creat more consistent singles, learn some new techniques like Navajo plying and just have fun with it. It will be interesting to see where Ella will take me!

Cooking: This somewhat goes with the healthy factor, but I really want to start cooking more during the week instead of going for prepped foods like frozen pizzas etc. I’ve got a ton of recipes to try out and want to try at least one new one a week.  The Pioneer Woman has been a great inspiration for me lately.

Palisades State Park, South DakotaOutdoors: I really want to make 2013 the year of spending time outside the 4 walls in my house. My husband and I discovered at the end of summer we both enjoyed kayaking and plan to do more of that in 2013. Along with that is more hiking with the dog and I hope to plan a couple camping trips as well. These will probably be to local state parks and nature areas around Omaha.

So 2013 is bound to be full of excitement for me. Knitting, spinning, cooking, hiking, eating healthy and running more will keep me busy. What is your theme for 2013? Until next time… -AMU

5 thoughts on “2013 Themes for Myself

  1. I am still pondering on that but have bits of ideas on my 2013 goals.
    I like all of yours, especially the eating and cooking ones.
    I am super anal about keeping track of oz I drink. I have this Hawaii Satrbucks mug my mum brought back from the islands. I know it’s 24 oz. I read somewhere one should drink half of her weight. My daily goal’s at least 50+. I also make a green smoothies just about every day and try to drink detox/spa water if I can.

  2. This year my theme is going to be focus.

  3. Love the pioneer woman!! 🙂 Great goals!

  4. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday | Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

  5. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review | Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Leave a Reply

