WIP Wednesday: Spinning Silk

20121002-061038.jpg

Yesterday I had this post all written up to perfection and then my computer ate it. Yup, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

This weekend I decided I needed something else on the spindle.  My big spindle has the SweetGeorgia merino on it and my laceweight spindle had been languishing in my stash. I dug it out along with this small braid of Merino/Tussah Silk/Bamboo (50/25/25). I receieved both the spindle and the fiber in separate swap packages last year. They seem to have been made for each other.

I have never spun anything with silk or bamboo in it, so this was going to be a challenge for me. This month in the Spinner’s Study group on Ravlery, the fiber of the month is Silk. There is a great discussion thread each month that focuses on one or two fibers.  I have to say I didn’t know there were so many types of silk! There is Bombyx and Mullberry silk which comes from Bombyx silkworms that are fed mulberry leaves.  Their coccoons are collected and the silk is harvested from those. Tussah silk comes from the cocoons once the moth emerges so the silk threads they spin off of the cocoon are broken up. There is so much more to learn about silk!

20121002-061044.jpg

I’ve split up the fiber and started spinning it up. It is spinning super fine and I’m not having any issues with it breaking! I think spinning this will result in a 2 ply laceweight! Holy cow that is fine! We’ll see how it progresses.

Besides the spinning I have been knitting. I finished an Apple Cozy for a Harry Potter House Cup event and finished my Featherweight Cardigan! (Post on those later this week when I get proper photos taken!)

In the meantime, I’ve been trucking along on Sock #2 of the Monkeys Sans Purls. The sock has officially hit “puberty” where it is getting a gusset and is exceptionally awkward to work with. I am already contemplating my next pair of socks. I’m thinking some self-striping socks, but need to find some yarn for it.

20121003-063230.jpg

For more WIPs check out Tamis!

-AMU

3 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Spinning Silk

  1. Your sock and spinning look great!

  2. Love the color of the yarn on your spindle. Two-ply laceweight — wow.

  3. It sounds like fun to learn about and experiment with new fibers with the support of a Ravelry group. Looks lovely on the spindle!

    Yay for sock two!

Leave a Reply

