Spinning Success

 

If you have been reading this blog for awhile you will note that I haven’t really had any spinning content in quite awhile. The reasoning was that I just wasn’t having the success I was wanting from spinning. I was having consistency issues, my joins were terrible, and I was constantly feeling like I was fighting my fiber.

I normally would predraft the piece of the braid into a long bit and spin right from that. Yup, one big long piece. You can see why I was having issues fighting with it. It was tough to corral a long piece of fiber like that. I just thought, “Well maybe I’m not doing this right.”

The spinning sat in the corner for the last couple of months mocking me until I visited Shells place one night for some knitting. She was sitting on her couch just going to town on her Trindle! I’m like okay why is she making this look so dang easy? I carefully watched and she was pulling off small chunks of fiber from her braid and spinning the small chunks instead of spinning off a giant piece of fiber. This has sat in the back of my mind for about a month.

20120924-081035.jpg

Yesterday, while enjoying some Doctor Who, I decided it was time to conquer the spindle again. I got all the stuff out and opted to try this technique of a little bit at a time. What a difference that made! I was no longer fighting the fiber and my joins were more consistent because I wasn’t trying to juggle a huge ball of fluff and join in at the same time.

Soon I had polished off the 25g that I had predrafted.  I will wind that off into a plying ball later today and start on the 2nd half of the fiber. I’m so glad I gave this a go!

-AMU

4 thoughts on “Spinning Success

  1. That looks awesome! I am so glad that just observing made such a huge difference for you. I’ve been wheel spinning again lately, mostly because I just want to finish spinning the yarn for the featherweight, but I can’t wait to get back to my trindle!

  2. That looks great! I think I’ll have to pull out my spindle and fiber again (after the show this weekend) and try to perfect my technique as well 🙂

  3. Great job!! Looking good! 10 mins a day is the best way to go. Remember it’s all about muscle memory.

  4. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Spinning Silk | Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Leave a Reply

