3KCBWDAY7 – Balance

Crafting Balance 
Are you a knitter or a crocheter, or are you a bit of both? If you are monogamous in your yarn-based crafting, is it because you do not enjoy the other craft or have you simply never given yourself the push to learn it? Is it because the items that you best enjoy crafting are more suited to the needles or the hook? Do you plan on ever trying to take up and fully learn the other craft? If you are equally comfortable knitting as you are crocheting, how do you balance both crafts? Do you always have projects of each on the go, or do you go through periods of favouring one over the other? How did you come to learn and love your craft(s)?

This is a fun topic too!

I’m mostly a knitter. I have been knitting since about 10 years old and up until about 3 years ago I only knit plain garter stitch scarves in bulky yarn on big needles. I moved to Omaha and found a knitting group because I wanted to meet people. I couldn’t believe the things these women were knitting. Lace shawls, sweater, mittens, hats and SOCKS!  I was soon taken in and taught many a thing. I haven’t looked back since!

I’ve never really been a crocheter. I crochet coasters when I need some new ones and the occasional edging on a finished project, but other than that I don’t venture much from the knitting.

I picked up a drop spindle back during the fall of 2011.  I have been working on that quite a bit and will get bit by the “spinning bug” and go to town. I am looking at getting a wheel in the coming months and I think I will definitely go through phases where I will spin and phases where I will knit.

I definitely have a huge problem balancing what projects I have going. I usually have 3 or 4 or 5. I guess they help in that I can switch projects if I get tired of working on one, but it makes them take much longer than they would if I was knitting on them alone.

-AMU

Leave a Reply

