3KCBWDAY5 – Something Different

Ways in being a knitter has helped in the “Real World”:

1. Last night I utilized a spare DPN in my purse to fish out a cherry in the bottom of my glass at a local bar. Folks asked where I got the long metal toothpick.

2. Speaking of toothpicks, do you know they come in handy when you need a stitch holder, cable needle, or something to break between your fingers when you’ve realized you have royally screwed up your knitting. They are much cheaper and easier to break than bamboo DPNs.

3. When in the hardware store, it’s handy to have a tape measure in the project bag in your purse. I don’t know how many times my husband has said “Hey, you don’t happen to have a tape measure do you?”

4. When in an uncomfortable social situation, knitting a sock will typically break the ice with strangers much better than a sweaty handshake.

5. Getting stuck in situations like a flat tire, car trouble, or doctor’s offices have become welcome because I get to knit on the project I have with me.

-AMU

6 thoughts on “3KCBWDAY5 – Something Different

  1. I often have leftover yarn stashed in my desk. Many’s the sweater I have helped to repair in my office!

  2. All very excellent points 😉

  3. Being a knitter is great! It gets you through so many things:)

  4. I agree. Knitting does make the world a better place. And those DPNs are especially useful!

  5. Could not agree more….knitting keeps the ducks in a row and the world spinning smoothly.

  6. I need to learn to keep a project in the car when I go about town, so just in case of emergency I have something to work on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

