FO Friday: Mittens and a Hat

The past two weeks have been a much needed break for me. I took some time off from work, hit the slopes in Colorado, and finished a couple of knitting projects. I didn’t get in as much knitting time as I would have liked, but it was good to get some stuff off the needles.

First up is the pair of Snapdragon Mittens by Ysolda Teague that I knit up for my SIL as a Christmas/Winter Holiday present. I used Malabrigo Rios in the Sunset colorway. The pattern I modified slightly. I didn’t like the pointy shape of the mitten top so I substituted a plain one from Ann Budd’s Book of Patterns. I love that book and I highly recommend it for your book shelf! I changed how the flip-top was held to the body of the mitten as well. Instead of a loop and button closure, I went with an icord loop at the wrist that held the top down, but didn’t require any buttons.

snapdragon
Snapdragon Flip-top Mittens
Snapdragon Flip-Top Mittens

The second finished object I want to show you is my finished snowboarding hat I made just for the trip out to Colorado!

 
I used the Mini Mochi Fair Isle hat pattern which is free on Ravelry.  Mine was knit up with Knit Picks Stroll in black and Knit Picks Chroma fingering in Pool Party. I’m in love with how this turned out. The pattern was a bit annoying when it came to sorting out how to do the decreases and I will freely admit I sort of made it up on mine, but it looks great and kept me really warm while on the slopes!
 
Mini Mochi Fair Isle hat

I am super glad this hat turned out the way it did. It will definitely be in my rotation of winter items now.

 
For more finished objects, don’t forget to stop by Tami’s for all the wonderful links!
 
-AMU
4 thoughts on “FO Friday: Mittens and a Hat

  1. Two beautiful projects. I really like the mods you made on the mittens. I have overlooked that pattern because I didn’t like the point at the top. Your hat had made me think about all the chroma I have hanging out in my stash…

  2. I love love love that hat. Something about black with a graduated color change is just always amazing.

  3. Pretty mittens with the clever icord and love the hat! Nice finishes.

  4. I like the changes you made to the mittens. I don’t like the pointiness in the pattern either. The i-cord loops are very clever too. The hat looks stunning and stranded knitting always makes things warmer!

Leave a Reply

