WIP Wednesday: Snapdragon Flip-top Mittens

This year I have done zero, yes ZERO, Christmas knitting until this week. The only thing I had planned was something for my darling sister-in-law. But what to make her??

She loves things that are whimsical in nature. This is one reason I chose Ysolda Teague’s Snapdragon Flip-top Mittens.  Ysolda does a great job with her patterns. I have both Whimsical Little Knits books and several other patterns by Ysolda, ironically though I’ve never knit a single one, until now.

 

Snapdragon Flip-top Mittens

These are knit up using Malabrigo Rios in the Sunset colorway. I wante a washable wool since they will be on hands and things like that just get dirty. Makes them easy to care for.

 
I’m not happy with the top of the mitten and will be ripping it back and doing a round toe on them to make them look much better.
 
I’m also thinking about using a magnetic purse clasp instead of buttons to hold the flip top down. This way you aren’t trying to fumble with a button using one hand.
 
I love the cable pattern on the cuff of this mittens. It knit up quick and really adds some good detail to them. I could see another pair for myself in the future!
 
Head on over to Tami’s for more WIPs this week!
 
-AMU
7 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Snapdragon Flip-top Mittens

  1. Beautiful mitten! I prefer round to pointed too.

  2. Looks beautiful, but I know what you mean about the top – which is the main reason I’ve never knit any mittens now that I think of it! I hadn’t even thought of substituting a round toe – d’oh!

  3. These are so cute! And I think the superwash was a great idea. I rarely make mittens out of non-superwash because I always think of how dirty the get in the hand part. Especially when you live in an area where it could be snowing into April, it’s important to be able to wash your mittens.

  4. Is it just me or can you see a dancing figure in the cable detail on the cuff? Love it! And the yarn colour is just gorgeous – a perfect lift for a dreary winter day!

  5. brilliant to think of using a magnet instead of a button– I just popped a button off one of my mittens this week trying to un-hook the darn thing.

  6. The mittens are looking great. The magnetic closure is a fantastic idea!

  7. Lovely! I like the idea of a magnet instead of a button. I struggle with the buttons on mine and quite often just leave it flapping.

Leave a Reply

