WIP Wednesday: A new beginning

So a few weeks ago I shared with you my Yosemite Socks that I was knitting out of Socks That Rock Lightweight in the Yosemite Colorway. I haven’t said much about them on my blog since then, but I had told a few friends about my progress.

While knitting these socks on 2.5mm needles I made it to the heel and began the increases for Wendy Johnson’s Toe Up Socks with a Difference. The difference being the gusset increases are on the bottom of the foot vs. the side of the foot. I found this to be an interesting technique and began my heel.

Because I was using yarn and getting a slightly different gauge than she had in the pattern I had more stitches, so I tried to compensate and alter the pattern on the fly to do the short rows and turn the heel. The first time this didn’t work out so well. I ended up with a heel off centered. So I frogged back to the start of the heel and began attempt #2.

Attempt #2 was alright until I got to the heel flap. Something just wasn’t right. Things were not adding up right, I didn’t have the right amount of stitches, etc. So I frogged back a second time.

Attempt #3 went perfect! I got the gusset done, then the heel turn and then the heel flap. I’d even began the leg part of the sock. I thought, well this is a good time to try this on! I slide it onto my foot and…..

Holy cow! It’s HUGE! This sock doesn’t fit at all! I realize I’d been telling myself the foot circumference will get smaller as I knit the heel. I don’t know what delusional state I was in to make that assumption, but I should have been slapped. Not to mention the heel itself was giant! I was angry, mad, annoyed, you name it. The sock was immediately cast aside to the WIP basket and I glared at it for the last 2 weeks everytime I walked past.

This morning I fixed it. I frogged the ENTIRE sock, and cast on for a cuff down sock with the same yarn.

Yosemite Socks w/ a fresh start

Yup, there is the start of a new sock. On double points. 2.25 mm needles, 64 stitches, and cuff down. I think a fresh start will ease the pain of the previous….encounter.

For some more WIPs head on over to Tami’s!

-AMU

12 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: A new beginning

  1. Good luck 🙂 I hope it works out for you this time around. Frogging is never fun, but sometimes it’s a necessary devil.

  2. I’m having a very similar experience– but I’m going from cuff down to toe up, now.

    Good luck!

  3. Good luck with this attempt – I think the yarn’s lucky not to have been thrown out the window at that rate – good thing it’s pretty!

  4. Good luck! I hate starting over, but sometimes you just have to and it usually does feel better once you get going again! 🙂

  5. Bah, I hate it when projects misbehave that way. The only silver lining I can think of is that it always goes faster the second time. And now I understand why you typed “hell” instead of “heel” up there. Must’ve been a Freudian slip! 😉

    • HA! I didn’t even notice that! I went and fixed the typo, but you are probably right, it was a Freudian Slip!

  6. Wow…now that looks complicated! x

  7. Ah, knitterly denial will get you every time. I think I’ve gotten better at listening to it earlier, because I know the pain that will come if I don’t! That colorway is beautiful…I know the socks will (eventually) be, too. =)

  8. I hope your sock works out better this time! The yarn is great, I love the colours.

  9. Fingers crossed for attempt number two! Such pretty yarn!

  10. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Almost a Gusset | Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Leave a Reply

