WIP Wednesday: Dead Fish Hat

This week I have a new WIP to report on! The Dead Fish Hat that appeared in Knitty back in Winter of 2008. I decided it was time for a new fun winter hat and so I’m casting this bad boy on. I will be making a Dead fish for those curious.

The lips and start of head

Right now all I have done is the lips and the short rows for the shaping of the head!

I am using US7 (4.5mm) needles to knit this up. I am magic looping with a 32″ needle which is really cutting it close.  The yarn being used is the Stitch Nation Alpaca Love by Debbie Stoller brand. It’s put out by Red Heart. Yup that’s right, Red Heart. I have to say this yarn is surprisingly nice. Red Heart has gotten a bad rap in the past I think, they ahve really started to create some excellent lines in the recent years. This particular is the Alpaca Love with 80% Wool and 20% Alpaca. It’s super soft and squishy and I think it will really soften up after a wash.

3 Colors of Alpaca Love by Stitch Nation that I'm using.

I’m planning on using the red for the lips, fins and other accents and then striping the purple and teal in an even strip of about 8 rows per stripe or something like that. I am super excited to get this knit up because I think it will be really fun to wear to climbing and other outdoor activities this fall/winter.

If you enjoyed this WIP and want to see some more, head on over to Tami’s for more WIP Wednesday Links!

-AMU

12 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Dead Fish Hat

  1. Love the colour combination you’re using – and I can’t wait to see more of the hat as it progresses – such a fun pattern 🙂

  2. This hat cracks me up 😀 My bf fishes, and I keep wanting to knit him one to wear while he fishes..but he never takes me up on the offer.

    Can’t wait to see your dead fishie hat 🙂

  3. Can’t wait to see this as it grows! Too cute!

  4. Oh gosh, I’ve never seen that hat before – genius! I love your colours, and it looks like it’s going to be fabulously warm 🙂

  5. Very nice colour choices – it’s going to be very fun when it’s finished!

  6. I had to pop over to Ravelry to see this pattern. I think it’s going to look fantastic once finished. You will definitely have to post a picture of you wearing it when you are finished.

  7. The fish hat is so cute! I can’t wait to follow your progress.

  8. oohh thats gonna be cute, lovely wool, i have one ball i got in the US but hard to get in the UK X

  9. This is my super secret knitting for my favourite little girl. I’m just finishing the tail. Unfortunately, I can’t see your pictures. But it sounds lovely.

  10. And now I can see your pictures. Great colours.

  11. I love the colors you’ve chosen.. not my usual colors but, I think they’ll go together nicely.

  12. Pingback: Friday Special: A Tale of Two Swatches | Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Leave a Reply

