WIP Thursday: Socks

Socks. That’s what the WIPs are today. This was supposed to be posted on Wednesday but due to a killer migraine, a flooding basement, and a dentist appointment, the blog didn’t get updated for Wednesday.

This last weekend was the guild’s Fall Retreat. It turned out wonderful! I  had a fun, got some serious knitting done and somehow ended up teaching two “mini-classes” on Saturday. One was on various way to join yarn while working on a project (Russian join and the felted “spit” join). The other was on how to insert an afterthought heel into a sock project. That “mini-class” really facinated many folks there.

Wildcat Sock #1

As you can see in the above photo the Wildcat Sock #1 is nearly complete. I just need to kitchener the heel closed and then go about weaving in ends. This was the sock used for the afterhough heel tutorial at retreat. Sock #2 will be cast on this weekend and as I’m going, I will be writing down the pattern.

Since this sock is currently in finishing limbo for a few days, I decided I needed another sock project for my purse. So I grabbed out my recently acquired Socks That Rock Lightweight by Blue Moon Fiber Arts and cast on immediately Monday evening.

Socks That Rock Lightweight in Yosemite

This is the Yosemite colorway which I believe was a club color a few years back. This sock pattern is a simple 2×2 rib with a mock cable every other rib. Just something I made up on the fly this week. I cast on Monday night while waiting for my car to be repaired at the shop and ended up knitting and re-knitting the toe 3 times that night before I got it right.

This colorway is pooling in almost an argyle way. I’m sure it will stop pooling about 1/2″ from now becaus I will start doing the gusset increases for the heel. Yup, this sock is not going to have an afterthough heel, but a heel gusset and flap! I’m using Wendy D. Johnson’s Toe Up Socks With a Difference pattern (FREE!). I’ve never done a toe up sock with a gusset and heel flap before so I figured this would be a neat project. These are being knit on 2.5mm needles.

So there ya have it! Anothe WIP post for the week. We’ll see if we have any FO’s on Friday, but right now it’s looking like a bit NO, so there will be a special post again this Friday!

See you tomorrow!

-AMU

3 thoughts on “WIP Thursday: Socks

  1. The socks look great! I love the pooling on the STR but haven’t gotten around to purchasing any just yet.

  2. Pingback: Friday Grab Bag: Yarn Review | Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

  3. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: A new beginning | Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Leave a Reply

