FO Friday? Not this week

 

So I don’t have any FO’s to share with you this week. Perhaps I should have hoarded one away from last week’s post to have something for emergencies!

Today however I am going to share with you the finished swatches, yes swatches, that I have knit up in prep for some new knitting projects!

Swatch #1 on Left, Swatch #2 on Right
 

Swatch #1Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk Aran, in a dark navy blue (I don’t remember the colorway number)

This is a swatch for an upcoming secret project that I can’t talk about. I have longed to knit with Debbie Bliss and I’m loving how this worked up. Super soft, and super silky. The bottom part of the swatch was done on US8 (5.0mm) needles and the top half was done on US7 (4.5mm) needles. I’ve still got to wash it and see what the post-washing and blocking gauge is.

Swatch #2Cascade 220  in a lovely grey

This swatch is actually for the class at this weekend’s knitting retreat for my local guild. We are going to be learning about gauge and fit and how to measure for a sweater. Also I think there will be some information on how to alter a pattern to fit you!

Swatch #3

 Swatch #3Classic Elite Fresco, in the Superman Yellow (5213) colorway

I have had this yarn in my stash for nearly a year. I picked it up right after Christmas at my LYS as a special order. I just loved this yellow color and had to have it! I’ve been waiting for a pattern to present itself that would work lovely with this yarn. I found it this week. Rhombi by Terri Kruse. I think it will be the perfect match for this yarn. I’m hoping I have enough yarn to make mine 3/4 sleeve instead of the short sleeved version. I should have enough though.

This weekend will be awesome. It’s the Fall Retreat for the Nebraska Knit and Crochet Guild. We have it each fall out at Mahoney State Park here in Nebraska. We get a lodge room for classes, social knitting etc. There are couches galore around to settle in to and knit. Great hiking and outdoors areas. I’m really hoping the weather holds out this weekend. They are predicting storms all weekend.

I’m planning today on what I’m taking with me. So far I have my current socks on the needles, the Surya, and afghan square I’m working on, the Rhombi will be cast on this weekend as well! I think I will be well covered for a day or so of knitting!

Even though there isn’t an FO here, go to Tami’s to see some lovelies!

-AMU

4 thoughts on “FO Friday? Not this week

  1. I hope swatching works for you. I have the worst time getting my knitted item to work out as well as the swatch says it should.

  2. Go you with the swatching 😉

    I love Debbie Bliss Alpaca silk, so soft and gorgeous.

  3. I love all the colors of your swatches! I find swatches so exciting because it means new knitting projects that sometimes I can’t even finish the swatch =)

  4. swatch, swatch, swatching! I guess nobody has to tell you twice to swatch. They have to tell me! I should learn from you.

Leave a Reply

