FO Friday: Gryffindor Socks

So I finished these just in time for the start of the fall term of the Harry Potter Kntting and Crochet House Cup that takes place on Ravelry. I decided to join it again after taking a year off from it. I really like the changes that have been made in the last few months.

ย 

Gryffindor Socks

ย These were knit up from Ewe Look Great in Stripes by 3 Ewes Twisted in Fiber. This yarn was part of a themed month in May that featured Harry Potter themed striping yarns. I quickly snagged this skein when I saw it!

The socks were knit toe-up with an afterthought heel. I used US1 (2.25mm) needles! This was my first pair of socks with an afterthought heel and I absolutely love how easy it was to do! I was a bit intimidated at first, but I sucked it up and gave it a go. It definitely paid off!ย  The pattern I used was a simple k3,p1 rib that I typically consider my “vanilla socks”.

Feel free to check out 3 Ewes Twisted in Fiber both at their Artfire shop and their Etsy shop. Their Etsy shop typically has a different theme for each month, while their Artfire store is more of their regular self-striping and varigated colorways. They also have a group on Ravlery where they announce updates to both shops and blog posts!

For more Finished Object Friday posts, visit Tami’s Amis’ blog over here!

PS I’m really enjoying featuring different Indie Dyers on my blog, if you are interested in being a part of this, let me know!

-AMU

13 thoughts on “FO Friday: Gryffindor Socks

  1. I would like to learn the afterthought heel technique.

  2. Love that yarn, very cool colourway ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve never tried an afterthought heel, but I’ve only done 1 shortrow heel so far, I’m not very adventurous!

  3. They look great! I keep hearing people rave about the afterthought heels. They look scary, but I might have to give it a try. Some day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I love these. They are so cheerful!

  5. I love the gryffindor socks! great job! I’ve only done an afterthought heel once before, but I loved it too! I think they are the best looking heels in toe-up socks.

  6. These are awesome socks!

  7. Love them! I guess I should do something like that for my oldest daughter, but she doesn’t wear hand knits. Poor girl!

  8. Good thinking with the afterthought heel – it keeps your stripes nice and even!

  9. You’ll definitely be able to find those socks in the dark ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. They look great and I love how they match so well!

  11. How did you like doing the afterthought heel? I haven’t done one yet but I’ve been thinking about it since I can do just about any other heel.

  12. SOOOO awesome! Shoot, i wanted to join in on the House Cup group and totally forgot about it! Maybe next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Your socks are awesome! I think I’ll join the House Cup next term. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

