WIP Wednesday: A different kind of WIP

Last year about this time I set out to celebrate Elizabeth Zimmerman’s 100th birthday. In my quest to appropriately celebrate EZ and her contribution to the knitting community, I decided it was time for me to learn how to knit Continental. Continental knitting is where you hold the yarn in your left hand and “pick” stitches instead of wrapping the yarn around with your right hand as is done in the English method. Often times people consider the Continental method to be quicker than the English method. However let me remind you that it is only quicker about 6 months after learning and you are comfortable with the new method. The first few months I was knitting at a snail’s pace.

I have to admit being an Eastern Style knitter (right leg of your stitch in back)  learning Continental method was going to be interesting. Picking up the knit stitch with Continental was realtively easy. Not a whole lot of issues there. It was the purl stitch that was going to keep me on my toes.

Since the Western purl stitch has you wrapping your yarn counterclockwise and I wrap mine clockwise with Eastern, I had to come up with something different. I started looking all over online for something I could adapt my purl stitch with. If I did it like all the books said, I kept creating twisted stitches, so there began the epic quest for finding a different way to purl.

I started Googling all things with “Continental Knitting through the back loop” etc. Here’s a video that I found really helpful. It does in fact show how I purl with my stitches seated differently on the needles.  It is basically a variation on the Norwegian Purl that is popular for people doing a lot of ribbing. It prevents you from having to move the yarn to the front of the work to create the purl stitch.

I have also found in the last year since learning to knit Continental that my tension is much more even than it ever was when using the English method. This creates for much better gauge swatches and when doing ribbing, it looks more even.

Hopefully this will encourage you to take a closer look at your knitting and maybe learn a new technique this next year.

Since it is WIP Wednesday, don’t forget to head over to Tami’s Amis blog to check out other cool WIPs!

-AMU

9 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: A different kind of WIP

  1. I keep meaning to try and learn continental, but it feels so unnatural to me! I seem to get by fairly fast on my english throwing method, but I’d love to be faster!

  2. I picked knitting up again this year and have stuck with it this time (which never happened before). As a long time crocheter – people thought I would migrate to continental easily. I actually threw my yarn Eastern style at first and then tried continental. I think I went to continental faster because of my crochet roots, but the purl gave me some ‘blah’ moments too.

    Good for you for taking up knitting 🙂 any new hobby means more options than you had before 😛

  3. I also find that I knit quicker and more evenly with continental so long as I’m not doing a straight purl row, which usually is a pain in my butt.

    Another thing to consider is I have a hard time knitting on straight needles with the english method. It feels clumsy. I do much better continental when I’m on straights.

  4. I do’t know about changing but I am glad that it has paid off for you. I tried it but didn’t really get into it. Maybe someday or maybe not.

    Good going!

  5. I have tried Continental several times but always resort to my faster method of flinging the yarn over. SO much quicker I don’t think I’ll ever have the patience to properly re-learn something that slows me down so much.

  6. I have wanted to learn Continental and should one of these days.

  7. I have that on my bucket list to do. Learn continental knitting. Good luck can’t wait to read about your progress.

  8. I’ve tried knitting differently but I’m afraid of the effect it would have on my tension! It sounds like it’s been a very successful experiment for you!

  9. I started out knitting Continental when I was 9, because I learned to crochet when I was 4. It bothered my Grandfather who taught me to knit. Didn’t know at the time that it was a technique with name.

Leave a Reply

