Yarn Tasting – Part 1 Princess

A month or so ago Personal Threads Boutique here in Omaha had a “Yarn Tasting” and invited customers to attend. At the Yarn Tasting we got to sample 5 yarns from Classic Elite Yarns and see many of the new pattern books and samples knit from the yarns we were given. Each of us got 5 mini skeins to take home to fondle, knit with, frog, wash, etc.  I’ve just now started knitting up my swatches. The owner, Joe, asked us to write a bit about the yarns we sampled to help him decide which yarns he might order to keep in stock at the shop! I thought this was a great idea!

The first yarn I’ve knit up, was Princess by Classic Elite Yarns. It’s a 40% Merino, 28% Viscose, 15% Nylon, 10% Cashmere, and 7% Angora blend. The color I was given is an off white. I used the recommended needle size and did in fact get gauge with this particular yarn. I chose to knit my swatch in Seed Stitch, using size US 7 needles.

Classic Elite Yarns - Princess

Pros:

I loved the fabric I knit up. It’s tight, but not too tight, and has a bit of stretchiness to it. I think this has a great stitch definition to it as well. This is super soft and warm, and would make a great scarf, cowl, hat or mittens. This yarn comes in a 50g ball with 150 yards per ball. This is a great deal for the price.

Cons:

The yarn I noticed was a bit splitty when I was knitting with it. This could be me as I was using bamboo needles and in the future would choose needles with a sharper point.

Overall  I think this is a great yarn! I would definitely buy a skein or two to knit up a cozy scarf or 1 skein for a nice cowl in the future!

Look for more reviews from the other yarns in the future!

-AMU

One thought on “Yarn Tasting – Part 1 Princess

  1. Pingback: Yarn Tasting – Part 2 Fresco | SparkeeSpud's Knitting Blog

Leave a Reply

