Harry Potter House Cup

The Harry Potter House Cup is a group on Ravelry that started about 2 years ago. It’s intention was to be a fun “game” where you are assigned a House, and you complete knitting projects for various Classes within the game and earn points for your house. At the end of the Term the House with the most points wins. It’s fairly straightforward. I got talked into joining this Term by a few other friends on Ravelry that have participated in previous Terms. I’m loving every moment of it so far.  I was sorted into the Ravenclaw house.

A Term is 3 months long. The Fall Term is Sept-Nov. There are various classes that are opened and each one has a theme. Take Flying for this term. You have to knit an item that uses either: a special tool (ie cable needle, pom-pom maker, etc), a new technique to you, or a combination of 3 different knitting/crocheting techniques.

I chose to do my Hermione Hat for this class. It incorporated a special tool, cable needle, and I used the new purling technique I learned as well. I wove in the ends just a few minutes ago.

Hermione's Cable and Eyelet Hat

This was a very quick knit. I did the pattern for the adult size, though I wish I would have cast on less stitches than I did. I upped the amount of stitches from 110 to 140 because 110 was turning out way too small. I think 120 would be a good number next time. I’m going to cheat a bit and add some elastic cord around the bottom to make it fit a bit tighter. I’m also wavering about deciding if I want to make a pom-pom for the top. I used about 1.5 balls of Inca Alpaca yarn so roughly 165 yds to make this hat.

Next up on the plate is of course the Perfect Sweater, and a new shawl for a friend.

-AMU

Leave a Reply

