Progress!

In the last post I talked about learning the Continental Purl Stitch, using the Eastern European method. I love it. I really genuinely do. I did 1×1 ribbing in record speed (for me!)

This week I’ve cast on 2 new projects! The first is my Hermione’s Cable and Eyelet hat. It’s a free pattern from Ravelry. The hat comes from one worn by Hermione in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. There are several similar patterns floating around out there. This one calls for a worsted weight yarn. I chose to do mine in Classic Elite’s Inca Alpaca.  It’s a bit lighter than worsted in my opinion. I changed the pattern and sized the pattern up. It was originally written for a kid’s head, so I needed mine a bit bigger.

Hermione's Cable & Eyelet Hat

I have all the ribbing done and another 10 rows or so. I’m just getting into the cable pattern. This is going to be a very quick knit!

The second project is  a bit bigger. I’ve been wanting to make myself a sweater as a personal challenge for myself.  Last week I picked out a pattern and purchased the yarn. Today I cast on.

I’m doing the Perfect Sweater from Mason-Dixon’s Website. I’m using Berroco Ultra Alpaca in the color Cerulean Mix. It’s a lovely blue-green heather.  It’s knitting up just like I knew it would.

Hemmed Picot Edge for the Back

After casting on I began knitting. A few hours later I had the hemmed picot edge done! I have to say I’m loving the way this is coming together already. I love the picot part! I’ve never done that technique before and I really enjoy how it dresses up the edge a bit more. I have a goal of getting this done by my birthday in October, so we’ll see how it goes!

That’s all for now in the world of Sparkee’s knitting!

-AMU

Leave a Reply

