I’m not dead…

But I am really, really busy lately. A few weeks ago we started some more house projects. The big one which was painting the dining room, is over. We painted it a dark brown called “Melted Chocolate”. I wish it was scratch n’ sniff.

Repainted Dining Room

Well once we got everything painted we finally hung up some pictures. It’s really starting to look like people live here now.  Besides all the housework, I had to take the wedding shawl to the bride!

The Abrazo shawl for Lisa's Wedding.

She absolutely loved it! It matched the other items in her wedding perfectly!

I also finished my Traveling Woman shawl this weekend! I can’t wait to wear it!

Traveling Woman blocking dry.

I can’t believe how it turned out. The yarn was perfect to knit with and this pattern worked up really quickly. Instead of wet blocking the shawl, I tried the misting technique. I pinned it out and then sprayed it down with a spray bottle. That worked great and didn’t take too long to dry!

Other projects now includw the Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman. A few of us in my knitting guild wanted to try this out, so our fearful leader Karen has been walking us through it. Many people are done with theirs already. I’m a bit slower and so I’m just about done with the decrease section, so I would say about 1/3 of the way done. I’ve been working on it a lot this weekend as it is good knitting for talking to people.

Besides the BSJ, I also joined the Harry Potter House Cup on Ravelry. It’s a group of people that complete various ‘classes’ for points for their team house. I think it’s going to be a ton of fun and really help me out with my Christmas Knitting goals. More on the HPHC in a future post.

Well I need to get off here and update my doggie’s blog with his adventures. I’m hoping to get more frequent again with the posts, now that I’m not busy with summer things!

Have a safe Labor Day holiday!

-AMU

Leave a Reply

