Abrazo

Yesterday the post man surprised me with my Knit Picks order 3 days early! Yup, the tracking said I wouldn’t get it until Saturday, so it was a great surprise to see the box on my front door step.

This meant I could cast on the Abrazo shawl for my friend Lisa’s wedding. I got the yarn wound into 2 cakes last night at my Sit n Knit group. I really need to get me my own swift and ball winder in the future.

Knit Picks Gloss Lace in Cyan

I cast on the 367 stitches needed for this beast. That took me about an hour and a half because I was carefully placing a stitch marker every 20 stitches and watching Mythbusters at the same time, so I really only worked during the commercials. I opted for a loose knitted cast on.

367 Stitches

This morning prior to heading to work I got up early with the intention of knitting the first row of lace on this shawl. I get to the end and realize I have 12 sts remaining instead of 8. Oops. Somewhere I missed knitting 4 stitches. Well when I get home I’m going to have to go back and see if I can find where I screwed up. I should have placed stitch markers after each repeat like an intelligent lace knitter would do, but I thought “oh I can do this without markers….” Wrong-o. I have discovered that over the course of a year, I’ve lost alot of stitch markers somewhere. No idea where they’ve gone to. Just disappeared.
Hopefully I can find the error quickly and not have to tink back 359 stitches and start the row over again. Ugh, that would stink.
Happy knitting!
-AMU

 

4 thoughts on “Abrazo

  1. Beautiful yarn! Good luck with the shawl – I’m sure it’s going to be wonderful! 😀

  2. I hope you find where your error because tinking back that many stitches would probably make me want to scream! I can’t wait to see the finished product. I love the yarn color!

  3. That’s ALOT of stitches! Hope you get it done on time!

Leave a Reply

