5 Steps Forward, 3 steps back…

The past few days I’ve been really thrilled with how much I had gotten done on my FLS.  I had 20 rows of the yoke portion done. Well…..now I have 6. It seems Wed night knitting is the place to go to if I want to cry and rip out a few rows of knitting.

Here’s where I was about 15 rows into the knitting.

FLS pre-frogging to fix mistake

I realized after I got to my 2nd buttonhole row and knitted that row that the first buttonhole (on Row 6!!) wasn’t right. It was funky looking when I knitted it and I just told myself “It will blend in.” WRONGO!

So I spent most of my time at knitting last night carefully ripping out several rows (okay about 14) of knitting then picking up stitches and redoing a row or two. So now I’m at 6 rows complete on my FLS.

Also this weekend I’ve got to come up with a better way to wind my yarn into cakes. I have a yarn ball winder that I borrowed from someone, but I discovered that winding yarn by yourself with no swift results in…

Tangled Mess of Yarn

Onward…

-AMU

3 thoughts on “5 Steps Forward, 3 steps back…

  1. I may have already told you this, but I definitely found the yoke portion of the sweater to be the trickiest to knit. Once I got that squared away and figured out the lace repeats, it was smooth sailing. The Mal looks great too!

  2. Hey, Amanda — you can borrow my swift, too!

    Actually, I sort of wondered about that when I gave you my ball winder…

    As we have all discovered knitting on Wednesday nights sometimes results in a trip to the frog pond.

    🙂

    • Yeah the swift thing never dawned on me either until I attempted it solo. I think I will make R hold it for me while I wind it up…

Leave a Reply

