Ravelympics 2010

Ravelympics is something that started on Ravelry I think a couple years ago. This is a spur off of the Yarn Harlot’s Knitting Olympics she did during the 2006 Winter Games. The premise is to give your self some projects that would be challenging for you to complete in 17 days (the time from the Start to Finish of the Olympics games). The Ravelry version is slightly different and has different ‘Events’ in which you compete. There’s an Aerial Unwind which is new this year that is centered around frogging a project. There’s the WIPs Dancing event which deals with finishing up WIPs that you have laying around your home. There’s a scarf event, shawl event, socks event, etc. You name it an odds are it falls into one of the event categories.

In addition to a bunch of different events that you can ‘compete’ in, there are teams that you can join. I’m on the Team Karma Squirrels, which is a charity knitting group I found on Ravelry. I’ve donated a few squares for afghans and things like that to them. It’s a great group of people from all over the world. I’m one of the Team’s Captains for this years games.

The cool thing about the Ravelympics is that just finishing a project makes you a winner. It’s more of a personal challege than one against other people, though some groups are doing that.

Here’s my list of projects that I will have links to on the sidebar to track my progress.

Charity Projects

  1. Charity Hat
  2. Charity Scarf

WIPs Dancing

  1. Warmeez Cabeled Mitts (10in2010)
  2. Danica
  3. Scrunchy Mal Scarf
  4. Adia Lace Scarf

Aerial Unwind

  1. Christina’s Socks (this will be the 2nd and final frogging)

Hat Halfpipe

  1. From Norway With Love Hat – Completed Feb 15th, 2010

This is a pretty large list. I’m not thinking I can get ALL of them done expecially with wanting to knit myself a hat this weekend as well (I lost mine sometime this last week and my ears are getting cold). I’m wanting to get the Charity Projects done first and foremost. I have kept telling myself “I’ll knit a charity project when I get some extra time.” Well realizing that there is no time like the present I might as well do it now that I have a goal to meet.

So if you’d like to join me in the next few weeks during the evening to put up your feet and knit, please let me know. I’ll probably be in my comfy living room doing just that while watching the Olympic Games on TV. GO TEAM USA!

Knit on!

-AMU

One thought on “Ravelympics 2010

  1. Good luck with all your Ravelympic projects!

Leave a Reply

