The Birth of a Hedgehog

So in the previous post I talked about the project I picked up at the Yarn Shop in Lincoln, NE.  I sat down with my pattern and yarn while at the Yarn Shop and dove right in knitting. By the time we were ready to leave the yarn shop, I had the body of my furry friend complete.

Hedgehog Body

In the car on the 45 min trek back to Omaha, I put his little purple feet on!

Body w/ Feet.

Saturday night and Sunday morning I knit furiuosly in order to get his backside done. I hate knitting with fun fur with a passion, but the end result was worth it. My DH thought it was a weird looking critter and the dog didn’t know what to do about it either. Okay, I’ll admit it did look bizarre and limp.

Front of Hedgie pre-felting

Side of Hedgie, Pre-Felt

So that’s what he looked like before I felted him. So Sunday after lunch I threw Hedgie (that’s what I’ve decided to call him, not the most original, but it will do) into a white pillow case and into the load of whites I was getting ready to wash. After about 20 min in the agitation cycle, it might have been more like 30, I honestly didnt’ keep track, I have a felted Hedgehog!

Felted Hedgie

He’s still damp this morning and will need to dry some more. I also need to find some eyes and a nose. I’m considering just embroidering them on. I need to figure out how to fluff up the fun fur. I’m thinking I should have poked it all to the outside before felting, but maybe I can still do it. I think it will take some time, but will be worth it.

-AMU

4 thoughts on “The Birth of a Hedgehog

  1. So cute! Looks like a quick project. I may have to borrow the pattern from you. 🙂

    • It was amazingly quick. Maybe a day if you really sat down and knitted it up. Sure you can borrow the pattern if you’d like.

  2. Hiya, great day! Your content is incredibly striking. I never thought that it was probable to accomplish something like that until after I checked out your post. You definitely offered an incredible insight on exactly how this kind of whole scheme functions. I’ll always come back for more info. Keep writing!

  3. Pingback: About Me | SparkeeSpud's Knitting Blog

Leave a Reply

