Finally worked on it again…

I finally got around to working on my Wedding Shawl tonight. I managed to get 2 repeats of the pattern done. That puts me at 6 and a little farther than I was when I had to frog things a few weeks ago. This time there is a lifeline. Last row of last repeat. That way I only lose 8 rows instead of 18.

It’s looking good. I’m thinking 10 repeats of the pattern, which is what the pattern calls for, isn’t going to be enough. I’m gonna do 12 and see where I am. I don’t know how much bigger I should expect it to get when it’s blocked. Anyone know?

I will probably work on it some more in the morning and then take a couple photos to update the Rav page, and this blog. Thanks goes out to L again as our little plan for getting it off the stitch holders and back into regular knitting order worked.

I also want to get some more progress on my socks done. I’d like to get both heels turned this week, but I’m not sure how I’m going to make that happen. I guess I can skip doing the dishes or something. 😉

Edited:

Alright. Here’s a photo of it on the needles. I’ve got 8 repeats nearly done at this point.

Forest Canopy Shawl

Forest Canopy Shawl

3 thoughts on “Finally worked on it again…

  1. I’m glad it’s finally going well for you! I loved working on Forest Canopy – but don’t ever neglect to put in a lifeline again! 😉 It will definitely block out bigger – in my project notes for it, mine went from 38” x 18” before blocking to 60” x 29” pinned out. I’m sure it sprung back a bit from that when I unpinned it. I didn’t measure it again to know, since it’s a gift. Looks like I did 14 or 15 pattern repeats (I can’t remember if you count the first leaf or not – I think not, so 14) for that size, but I was using sock yarn, too. Yours will be bigger. Have fun (it should be fun, or why bother doing it at all?).

  2. Oh, and I think I put in a lifeline every two or three pattern repeats, after the first time I had to rip back multiple repeats to get to where it was right! It’s worth the few extra minutes and scrap yarn, just to save your sanity!

  3. It’s gorgeous! I’m glad you are back on track. The shawl will “open up” when it is blocked, but I agree with your plan to knit a couple of extra pattern repeats to make certain it is as large as you want it to be.

Leave a Reply

