#ZK2014

Intense. Fun. Enthusiastic. Wooly. Spinning. Exhilarating. People everywhere.

Some words to describe how my time at the Zombie Knitpocalypse Retreat was this year. I met so many genuinely wonderful people and I felt I have added to my “inner circle” of friends as well.

20140626-075240-28360257.jpg

This is Ann. Ann taught a class on spinning long draw from the fold. I learned (and most likely have forgotten by now) the difference between woolen and worsted fiber prep, supported and non-supported long draw, and many other fun things. I did however, finally feel that I am ready to start spinning my alpaca fleece later this summer. I now have the necessary skills.

20140626-075515-28515096.jpg

This is Fiona and Karl the Koala. They both travelled from Australia to hang out at the retreat and sell Fiona’s yarn. Solar Flair Fibres on Etsy. Give her a look.

20140626-075815-28695213.jpg

This is ExplodingPinecone on Ravelry. We participated in the 5K and did quite a bit of spinning together. Amazing person. (Yes the photo
is upside down but I can’t fix it from
the phone app. I will fix it when I get home.)

The 5K was excellent and I got 2nd place! It was a prediction run so you put in a time a week before and see how close you get! I came in at 35:45 and had predicted 36 minutes flat. Rather impressed with myself and I hope I can continue to improve on that time.

20140626-080319-28999798.jpg

I witnessed the birth of an FO! Handspun socks made by Baconfairy! Gorgeous and squishy (socks were squishy and she was gorgeous). This was another amazing person that I hope to see more of in the future.

20140626-084405-31445334.jpg

Besides new friends, there were also old friends. The person on the left is my pal Lane. She and I met last summer at this retreat and became rather good friends over the last year. We had some more good times this year as well! And I am somewhat sad we didn’t get to use that crockpot.

Javajennie is on the right. She was a delightful person to get to know and has a wicked sense of humor. Many a fun time had with her around. I hope to see her again! #jennieisawesome

20140626-084721-31641616.jpg

Annette here had one heck of a journey on the way to retreat, but she made it! I had a great time with her as always and we just picked up where we had left off texting.

Many other friends I caught up with and I made some new ones. Unfortunately I was terrible at taking photos so you really don’t have many to look at. I did meet a fellow blog reader/writer! Hello there CaiteyRosey!! She was a doll and I loved her espinner!

I won some awesome yarn and got some awesome things in my goodie bag, but those don’t mean as much to me as the memories I made with friends. (I will blog about the “things” as I use them up.)

I can’t wait for ZK2015! #friendsforever

Until next time…
-AMU

3 thoughts on “#ZK2014

  1. Congrats on getting second place!

  2. Great run. What fun, fibery times you had.

  3. #hashtagsforever!
    So glad we had a chance to get to know each other this year! I’ll bootleg for you anytime!

Leave a Reply

