Chain Plying

20130409-061421.jpg

Sunday I sat down and started to Navajo, or chain ply the singles I had spun up. This was the first time I have ever chain plied so much. I did a test skein with some Corriedale a few months back but it was about 60 yards.

Things I have learned from this chain plied yarn:

  1. Let the singles rest for a day or so. This sounds weird and I honestly didn’t believe it myself, but it was much easier spinning and they seemed to have less “energy” after sitting.
  2. Worsted spinning seems to make a better single to chain ply with vs the woolen I did last time. I think it is stronger. Maybe that’s not the best way to describe it, but I only broke the single once this time and that was because it caught on my wedding ring.
  3. If I spin anymore than 4 oz I will need a bigger bobbin. It barely fit on there.
  4. I used the larger whorl size (12.5:1) for plying and spun the singles using the smaller size on that whorl (10.5:1) to spin the singles. I have to say I love the singles I got using the smaller ratio.
  5. I finally got into the rhythm of chaing plying near the end. One thing I need to work on is going to be more consistent sized chains. Sometimes I made them really large and sometimes really small.

20130409-163755.jpg

The finished yarn was 164 yards of a 12WPI (DKish) weight yarn. I love the colors in the finished product. Very earthy. Not sure what it will become. I welcome suggestions though!

Until next time…

-AMU

5 thoughts on “Chain Plying

  1. Looks great! I love the colors on there. You can chain ply worsted or woolen spun yarn with no problems, the big issue is the amount of twist you have in your single. It will come apart if there is not enough twist. With the smaller whorl you probably had a good amount of twist in your single and were able to easily chain it.

    And HECK YEAH to letting your singles to rest!

  2. Very pretty. Love the colors. I want to try chain plying at some point.

  3. Sigh, spinning sounds and looks so cool and fun.

  4. I agree x 1,000 about letting your singles rest. Another good tip is to put your lazy kate as far as possible behind you- I’m talking 3 feet or more. Unless you are chaining a colorshifting singles where you want to preserve the stripes, make the loops as large as possible, nothing under 8″ and I aim for as far back as my arm will reach.

    Happy plying!

  5. One of these days I’m going to get up the nerve to try this. I have some orange singles sitting on a bobbin that just don’t want to be plied with any of their neighbors.

Leave a Reply

